Australasian Law Teachers Association

Promoting Excellence in Legal Academic Teaching and Research

2017 ALTA Conference


Report on the ALTA Annual Conference 2017

The Law School of UniSA was host to the 72nd annual conference of ALTA, July 5-8, 2017. The theme was Law on the Line. A committee of 11 staff members worked 12 months with All Occasions Management to produce a highly successful gathering. The committee included Maggie Ball, Joe McIntyre, Juliette McIntyre, Krystyna Sawon, Victoria Danambasis, Rachel Spencer, Roman Tomasic, Jennifer McKay, Mia Rahim, and Peter MacFarlane.

Around 100 delegates shared five plenary sessions at the University’s City West Campus. International invitees were A/Prof Katie Sykes (Canada) and Prof Duncan French (UK). Other international registrants hailed from China, India, Vanuatu, Singapore and, of course, New Zealand.
Plenary topics were modern advancements in law teacher tools, the South China Sea imbroglio, the public face of law, law and popular culture, and the future of the law and legal training. Plenaries were chaired by members of the organising committee plus our own Robyn Layton QC and our Law Dean, Prof Wendy Lacey. The plenary sessions were videotaped. In due course they will be edited and made available for all to see.

90 sessional papers were delivered over 5 dedicated time slots coordinated, sorted and fashioned by the committee.
The opening reception on the Wednesday night at the Samstag museum and art gallery provided a good opportunity for delegates to gather ahead of the main event. Erica Green spoke of the exhibit. Uncle Lewis O’Brien welcomed us to country and the VC David Lloyd to the campus.
The dinner at the Mortlock Chamber of the State Library on the Thursday night attracted 110 guests including local practitioners. Maggie Beer AM (and Doctor of the University) was guest speaker.

Robin Woellner was the official photographer. Student volunteers were exceptional too.

Finally, the organisational work of All Occasions Management team of Alexandra Dewhirst and Nikki Solerno was nothing short of exceptional.


2 AUGUST 2017

The Conference program can be found here

Previous ALTA Conferences

There is information available on previous ALTA conferences.

Winners of the Best Conference Paper Awards, sponsored by Oxford University Press

ALTA would like to thank Oxford University Press (OUP) for their sponsorship of this year's ALTA Best Conference Paper Awards.  All conference participants were eligible to enter, with the winners being announced at the luncheon on Friday.  Each winner received AUD$500.

OUP-ALTA Best Overall Conference Paper

Dr Janet Austin - 'Providing the ability to trade securities issued by start-ups and SMEs. The regulatory challenges for markets designed for small companies'

OUP-ALTA Best Early Career Academic Conference Paper

Sascha Mueller - 'Local democracy and the agency-model of local governance'

OUP-ALTA Best Legal Education  Conference Paper

Daniel Goldsworthy
- 'Socrates and Smartphones: Why the future of legal education must be legal philosophy'

Conference papers

View some of the exciting presentations that were delivered at the conference:

The impact of technology in teaching law and research over the last 20 years - Professor Michael Adams, Western Sydney University

The increasing significance of aviation law for law students - Charles Giacco, Victoria University and Matthew Tsai, Ernst & Young

Photo Album

Photos courtesy of ALTA member, Robin Woellner, with thanks from the Committee.

Join us next year

The 2018 Conference will be hosted by Curtin University from
5-7 July 2018. 

Contact us +61 2 6125 4178

ALTA Secretariat hosted by the ANU College of Law

The Australian National University, 5 Fellows Road, Canberra  ACT 2601

 ABN: 99015138294

© 2016 Australasian Law Teachers Association
Images reproduced with the permission of the ANU College of Law, The Australian National University

Please direct all enquiries to: ALTA Secretariat | Page authorised by CHAIR, ALTA
The Australian National University, CRICOS Provider Number: 00120C

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management