Australasian Law Teachers Association

Promoting Excellence in Legal Academic Teaching and Research

ALTA interest groups

ALTA Members can join one of 29 Interest Groups across a wide range of legal disciplines. Interest Groups and their Convenors are listed below.  

If you're interested in becoming a Convenor, please contact the ALTA Secretariat. The attached Roles and Responsibilities for ALTA Convenors provides an overview of the important link Convenors provide between members and the Association. 

As this a new website we need members to login and tick the box or boxes to opt into their interest groups. Following that, we will upload an Interest Group Search tool to enable members to connect with each other. In the interim existing members can jump onto the Discussion Forum.

Clinical Legal Education and 
Practical Legal Training                          

Paul Rogers

Competition and Consumer Law

Alex Bruce

Company Law

Anil Hargovan

Comparative and Asian Law

Simon Butt

Constitutional Law

Imtiaz Omar

Criminal Law

Kris Gledhill

Dispute Resolution

Marilyn Scott

Environmental Law

Jacquie Svenson

Equity and Trusts

Sue Tappenden

Ethics and the Legal Profession

Maxine Evers

Evidence and Procedure

Kathy Douglas

Family Law 

Convenor position currently vacant

Indigenous Peoples and the Law

Convenor position currently vacant

Intellectual Property

David Price

International Law

Convenor position currently vacant

Labour Law

Kristy Richardson

Law and Computers

Alexandra Sims

Law and Economics 

George Barker

Legal Theory and Law in Context

Michael Head

Law and Medicine

Tina Popa

Law and Social Justice

Melville Thomas

Law for Non Law Students

Susan Douglas

Legal Education

Judith McNamara

Legal History

Sean Patrick Donlan

Legal Research and Communication

Natalie Cuffe

Property Law

Fiona Burns

Revenue Law

Robin Woellner

South Pacific Legal Studies

Nilesh Nirvaan Bilimoria

Tort and Contracts

Professor Prue Vines


Contact us +61 2 6125 4178

ALTA Secretariat hosted by the ANU College of Law

The Australian National University, 5 Fellows Road, Canberra  ACT 2601

 ABN: 99015138294

© 2016 Australasian Law Teachers Association
Images reproduced with the permission of the ANU College of Law, The Australian National University

Please direct all enquiries to: ALTA Secretariat | Page authorised by CHAIR, ALTA
The Australian National University, CRICOS Provider Number: 00120C

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management